St Regis Aspen * Aspen, Colorado

Sunday, August 21
6:00 p.m.

Welcome Reception

7:00 p.m. Opening Remarks
  • Jonathan Schwartz, President, Sun Microsystems
Monday, August 22  
8:30 a.m.

Welcome and Opening Remarks

  • George A. Keyworth, Chairman, The Progress & Freedom Foundation
8:45 a.m. Opening Address: The Place for Property and Commons in the Digital Sphere
  • Raymond L. Gifford, President, The Progress & Freedom Foundation
9:15 a.m. Roundtable Discussion: Reforming Communications Law
  • Randolph J. May, Director of Communications Policy Studies, The Progress & Freedom Foundation (Moderator)
  • Honorable William Barr, Executive Vice President & General Counsel, Verizon Communications
  • Jeffrey Citron, Chairman & CEO, Vonage
  • Kyle McSlarrow, President & CEO, National Cable & Telecommunications Association
  • Forrest Miller, President, SBC Communications
10:45 a.m.

Keynote Address

  • Edgar Bronfman, Jr., Chairman and CEO of Warner Music Group
11:30 a.m. Roundtable Discussion: Copyright: The Global Stage After Grokster
  • James V. DeLong, Director, Center for the Study of Digital Property Rights, The Progress & Freedom Foundation (Moderator)
  • Chris Israel, Coordinator of Intellectual Property Enforcement, U.S. Department of Commerce
  • Ambassador David A. Gross, U.S. Coordinator for International Communications & Information Policy, U.S. Department of State
  • Shane Robison, Chief Strategy & Technology Officer, Hewlett Packard
  • Pamela Samuelson, Professor, University of California at Berkeley, School of Information Management and Systems SIMS & School of Law
12:30 p.m.


  • Honorable Haley Barbour, Governor, State of Mississippi


Luncheon Address

  • Steve Bennett, President & Chief Executive Officer, Intuit
6:00 p.m. Informal Reception
7:00 p.m.

Informal Working Dinners

  • Reform of Telecommunications Law
    • Jonathan Askin,
    • Roger Cochetti, CompTIA
    • Stacey Dansky, U.S. House Committee on the Judiciary
    • Kyle Dixon, The Progress & Freedom Foundation
    • Link Hoewing, Verizon Communications
    • Susan Kennedy, California Public Utilities Commission
    • Michael Platt, Office of Representative Marsha Blackburn
    • Jim Speta, Northwestern University School of Law
    • Michael Sullivan, Office of Senator John Ensign
    • Steven Teplitz, Time Warner, Inc.
    • Howard Waltzman, U.S. House Committee on Energy & Commerce
    • Howard Woolley, Verizon Wireless
  • The DTV Transition: Is This the Year Congress Acts?
    • Dale Hatfield, University of Colorado
    • Jane Mago, National Association of Broadcasters
    • Mike O’Rielly, Office of Senator John Sununu
    • Peter Pitsch, Intel Corporation
    • Adam Thierer, The Progress & Freedom Foundation
    • Phil Weiser, University of Colorado School of Law
  • The Patent Reform Choo Choo Keeps Chugging
    • Rich Beutel, U.S. House Committee on Small Business
    • Jim DeLong, The Progress & Freedom Foundation
    • Charles Eldering, Technology, Patents & Licensing, Inc.
    • Dan Horowitz, U.S. House Committee on Small Business
    • Laurie May, National Academy of Public Administration
    • Morgan Reed, Association for Competitive Technology
  • The Meaning of Grokster: Legislation, Litigation, Markets or Mayhap?
    • Jim Burger, Dow, Lohnes & Albertson, PLLC
    • Braden Cox, Competitive Enterprise Institute
    • Sarah Deutsch, Verizon Communications
    • Sampak Garg, U.S. House Committee on the Judiciary
    • Mitch Glazier, Recording Industry Association of America
    • Scott LaGanga, Americans for Tax Reform
    • Solveig Singleton, The Progress & Freedom Foundation
    • Tom Sydnor, U.S. Patent & Trademark Office
    • Ryan Triplette, U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary
  • Data Security in a Digital Society
    • Lisa Anderson, U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary
    • Dan Caprio, U.S. Department of Commerce
    • Shannon Kellogg, RSA Security Inc.
    • Kent Lassman, The Progress & Freedom Foundation
    • Paul Martino, Alston & Bird, LLP
    • Ken Nahigian, U.S. Senate Commerce Committee
    • Lee Peeler, Federal Trade Commission  
    • Paul Rubin, Emory University
    • David Sohn, Center for Democracy & Technology
    • Orson Swindle
Tuesday, August 23  
8:30 a.m. Keynote Address: Doing Good While Doing Well: The Telecommunications Catalyst in Economic Transformation
  • William A. Owens, Vice Chairman & CEO, Nortel
9:15 a.m. Roundtable Discussion: Property Rights in the Air:  Approaches to Spectrum Reform
  • Thomas M. Lenard, Vice President, The Progress & Freedom Foundation (Moderator)
  • Michael Gallagher, Commerce Department Assistant Secretary and Director of the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
  • Thomas J. Sugrue, Vice President of Government Affairs,
  • Kevin Werbach, Professor, Wharton School of Business , University of Pennsylvania
  • Lawrence J. White, Arthur E. Imperatore Professor of Economics Department of Economics, Leonard N. Stern School of Business New York University
10:30 a.m.

Plenary Address

  • Honorable Marsha Blackburn, Representative, U.S. House of Representatives (R-TN)
11:00 a.m.

Roundtable Discussion: Is Media Convergence Leading to Regulatory Convergence? Old Threats and New Media

  • Adam Thierer, Senior Fellow & Director of the Center for Media Freedom, The Progress & Freedom Foundation (Moderator)
  • Robert Corn-Revere, Partner, Davis Wright Tremaine
  • John Landgraf, President & General Manager, FX Networks
  • David Stapf, President, Paramount Network Television
12:00 p.m. Roundtable Discussion: The Capitalism of Ideas: Patents and the Structure of Innovation
  • Solveig Singleton, Senior Fellow, The Progress & Freedom Foundation (Moderator)
  • Q. Todd Dickinson, Vice President & Chief Intellectual Property Counsel, General Electric Company
  • John Duffy, Professor, George Washington University
  • Marshall Phelps, Vice President for IP & Licensing, Microsoft Corporation
  • William C. Rooklidge, President, American Intellectual Property Law Association; Partner, Howrey, LLP
1:00 p.m. Luncheon Address
  • Nathan Myhrvold, CEO, Intellectual Ventures
6:00 p.m.

Chairman's Reception

7:00 p.m.

Chairman's Dinner & Address

  • Tom Perkins, Co-founder and Partner Emeritus, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers
* Invited