Additional information and the agenda will be posted at the PCAST Web site at: .

This meeting will take place at the National Academy of Sciences building, 2100 C Street, NW, Washington, DC.

CLICK HERE to view the Federal Register Notice


  • 8:30 am Welcome from PCAST Co-Chairs
    John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP); Co-Chair, PCAST
    Harold Varmus, Co-Chair, PCAST
    Eric Lander, Co-Chair, PCAST
  • 8:45 am International Food Security
    Speaker: Robert Paarlberg, Betty Freyhof Johnson Class of 1944 Professor of Political Science at Wellesley College and Associate at the Weatherhead Center for International Affairs at Harvard University (accepted)
  • 9:45 am Food and Agriculture Research
    Speaker: Roger Beachy, Director, National Institute of Food and Agriculture, Research, Education and Economics, United States Department of Agriculture (accepted)
  • 10:45 am Break
  • 11:00 am Overview of National Science Board Activities Related to PCAST Activities
    Steven C. Beering, NSB Chair, President Emeritus, Purdue University (accepted)
    Louis J. Lanzerotti, Distinguished Research Professor of Physics, Center for Solar-Terrestrial Research, New Jersey Institute of Technology (accepted)
  • 12:00 pm Lunch
  • 1:30 pm Public Comment
  • 2:00 pm PCAST Review of the National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI) Program Report
    Maxine Savitz and Ed Penhoet, Co-Chairs
  • 3:00 pm Adjourn