9:00 - 9:30

Opening Remarks

The Honorable Phil Bredesen, Governor of Tennessee, and The Honorable Jim Douglas, Governor of Vermont, co-chairs of the State Alliance for e-Health will provide opening remarks and review the agenda.

Governor Douglas & Governor Bredesen

9:30 - 10:00

Update from ONC

The Office of the National Coordinator will discuss the series of initiatives taking place by the federal government surrounding Health IT and Health Information Exchange.  They will also address the release of the Meaningful Use final rule and the Program Information Notice.

Claudia Williams,

Acting Director State HIE Program Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT

10:00 - 10:45

E-Prescribing for Controlled Substances

Discussion with DEA representative regarding new rules that address e-Prescribing for Controlled substances and the actions states should take to ensure providers are able to meet meaningful use.

Michelle Ferritto,
Regulatory Drafting Unit
Office of Diversion Control

Drug Enforcement Administration

10:45 - 11:15

Report on Licensure Meeting

Bruce McIntyre
Acting Chief Administrative Officer Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline in Rhode Island

11:15 - 12:00

HIT and Health System Change

Presentation and discussion of the interactions between Health Reform and HIT, and Meaningful Use.

Kathleen Nolan,
Director, Health Division
NGA Center for Best Practices

12:00 - 1:00

Lunch Break


1:00 - 2:00

Consent Laws and Interstate HIE

Presentation and discussion on State and Federal Consent Laws Affecting Interstate Health Information Exchange.

Dennis Melamed,

Melamedia, LLC

2:00 - 2:45

HIE Financing and Sustainability

Presentation and discussion on Health Information Exchange Financing and Sustainability

Renee' Bostick,

Health Management Associates

2:45 - 3:45

Future Activities for the State Alliance

Overview of Proposed Activities for the next year and Discussion on Succession Planning for the Alliance and Learning Transfer

Ree Sailors,
Program Director

NGA Center for Best Practices
3:45 - 4:00

Public Comment Period